County Commission


The West Virginia Constitution, Section 11, Article 9, specifically grants the following power and duties to the County Commissions:

  1. The custody, through their clerks, of all deeds and other papers presented for record in the County, with responsibility for their preservation or disposal as may be prescribed by law.
  2. The administration of the internal police and fiscal affairs of the County, with authority to lay county levies, under regulations as my be prescribed by law.
  3. Serve as the judge of the election, qualification and return of their own members and of all the County and district officers, subject to regulations as my be prescribed by law.

Other duties and responsibilities are specified in Chapter 7 of the West Virginia Code, particularly in §7-1-2. These include:

  • Preparation and adoption of budget for all county offices except judicial
  • Jurisdiction in all matters of probate
  • Appoint guardians for minor children, receive court settlements generally
  • Own and maintain county property
  • Sit as Board of Canvassers
  • Lay and disburse county levies based on assessed property values
  • Sit as Board of Equalization and Review in February to hear appeals on property values for assessment purposes
  • Appoint Fiduciary Commissioners to oversee and settle certain estates as required
  • Appoint members of certain county boards, authorities and public service districts
  • Adopt ordinances and orders in areas of jurisdiction as prescribed by law
  • Approve purchase orders and payment vouchers for all elected county offices except judicial

The County Commission is required by Section 9, Article 9 of the Constitution to hold four regular session (meetings) each year. These meetings must be held at the courthouse. Special sessions may be held throughout the year if called by the president of the Commission with the concurrence of at least one other Commissioner. Notice of all meetings must be given and meetings must be public, as required by open meetings law WV Code §6-9A-3. Executive sessions may be held as authorized by law. Two Commissioners in attendance at a meeting establish a quorum. The Commissioners choose one of their members to serve as president at the first session of each year.